Eisenmenger, Robinson, Blaue & Peters, P.A. Eisenmenger, Robinson, Blaue & Peters, P.A.
Serving East Central Florida
Call Today 321-504-0321
FREE Consultations for
Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Cases
Menu

How do the police deal with reckless driving in Florida?

The roads in Florida can be dangerous for drivers, motorcyclists, bicyclists and pedestrians even in the best of times. Some drivers take the liberty of driving in a way that places others in jeopardy. Drivers who operate their vehicles recklessly are not just placing themselves at risk, but putting the lives of others in serious danger. The state has enacted laws to punish drivers who drive recklessly in order to dissuade drivers from committing the act. Although the law takes steps to stop reckless driving, many people are hurt by reckless drivers regularly.

Reckless driving is defined as when a person drives with wanton or willful disregard for others' safety and sanctity of personal property. This can also occur if they're in the act of fleeing law enforcement. The penalties for reckless driving can be severe with up to three months in jail or fines of between $25 and $500 or both. If there is a second conviction, the driver will face up to six months in jail, a fine of between $50 and $1,000 or both.

Damaging a person or property will result in a first degree misdemeanor. If there is serious bodily injury to a victim or victims -- meaning that there is a significant danger of fatality, disfigurement or loss of extremities or organs -- it will be a third degree felony. Use of substances such as alcohol or drugs on the part of the negligent driver will increase the penalties the driver will face.

Police are constantly on the lookout for a distracted driver, a negligent driver or a driver committing the various forms of recklessness that will put others at risk of injury or death. That, however, doesn't stop a great many people from committing these kinds of acts without concern as to the damage they can cause. These kinds of accidents happen on a regular basis and those who have been hurt in a car accident might have thought that the laws to stop reckless driving were enough. They are confronted with an unwanted surprise. When there are charges of driving recklessly, it can help those who were hurt lay the foundation for a legal filing to be compensated with the help of a qualified legal professional.

Source: 2014 Florida Statutes, "316.192 Reckless Driving," accessed on Feb. 9, 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information